Present Help in Trouble

Well, I guess I’ve been absent long enough. I have been meaning to catch you all up on what’s been going on here, but I just haven’t found the time or the words. I’ve quit one of my jobs now, though, and I’ve had a little time to take stock.

These days I am feeling very broken, friends. There’s a lot that has happened over the last couple years that has made them very hard, most of which I don’t quite know how to talk about yet. But God is true to His promises and has been with us every step of the way. Leaning heavily on Him, we make it through the long hours, finding the grace, the daily bread we need to just keep going.

It hasn’t all been bad: Along the way, I have been blessed with so many little encouragements; my son’s progress (he’s learning to read and his speech has improved!), the success of various small projects (the Lake Country Throw has gained more positive attention than I could have hoped for!), and the love of my extended family (especially my aunts and my grandmother)…all these little things have been given to me at just the right time, reminders of grace and hope to keep me going.

It’s easy for me to trust God when life is going well, easy to the point of apathy. But it’s something else when the storm is raging all around, the waves are only getting higher, and God doesn’t stop them right away but says, “draw near.”

I want to rage sometimes. I want to cry (and often do). I want to quell the storm by shouting and beating at it. But it’s not until I stop and let Christ take me into His arms that I find rest and safety. While the storm tears down so much around me, while my own plans fail, I catch a glimpse of His ways.

“…the salvation of the righteous is from the LORD;
He is their strength in time of trouble.
The LORD helps them and delivers them;
He delivers them from the wicked and saves them,
Because they take refuge in Him.”
– Psalm 37:39,40 NASB

I can see the edge of the storm now, at least, and now the air feels like fall (so early! but this year it would suit me fine to have a long autumn and more days to sit with my knitting and drinks with fall spices). I’m ready for a change of season.  I hope to share more with you soon, in more detail, and I WILL get that pattern up (I just need to find it…I’m in the midst of re-organizing the house and not everything’s where it should be yet).

Leave a Reply

