New pattern coming soon!

So, since the last one went so well, I’ve decided that maybe this sharing my patterns thing is something I’d like to keep trying! I’ve had a lot of weird and difficult things happening in my life lately, so I’ve been so grateful to have my kitting to keep me sane.

Anyway, as I’ve been knit-coping the last few days, I decided to explore these knit headbands everyone’s been going crazy over on Pinterest. I made one. Then another. Then another in a different colour. I finally got the buttons sewn on (they’re such quick knits, I just wanted to keep getting that satisfying “I’m binding off another one!” feeling) and was trying one on around the house, when my daughter spotted Mommy’s new accessory. She looked at it with those wide, blue eyes and ever so sweetly said, “Mommy! Is that your headband??”
“Yes, sweetie, it is. Would you like one?”
Her face broke into one of her precious bright smiles as she replied, “yes! I want one purple, like Mommy’s, but wi’h pink on it too!”

So, off I went to Ravelry in search of the perfect one…but my search turned up very few options for very little girls, and fewer still in Aran weight yarn (which I had used for my own headband).

Back to the drawing board. Literally.

To be honest, that’s usually where I start writing patterns: despite seemingly limitless options, I sometimes just can’t find “the one.” Given that I’m working mainly with yarn given to me by a very generous aunt and can’t afford to just hop out and buy more, this happens quite often, as I try to make the project I have envisioned with the yarn I have on hand. Usually my “patterns” look like chicken scratch in a journal, half-phrased notes written on the fly as I promise myself I’ll remember how to do it again later (I rarely do).  Which brings us back to sharing.

When I know I want to share a pattern I’m more motivated to write it well and I’m more excited about finishing the job. Win for me. It only becomes a win for other people, though, if I actually get around to sharing it…which is why I’m telling you all now, and giving myself a deadline: December 4th is it! If I’m not done by then, you can…comment with disparaging words…or something. Anyway, just knowing other people are expecting it should be enough…I hope…my one concern is actually that I will just plain forget, because I am telling you, I have the worst memory of all time, and my life is absolute madness right now!

Anyway, check back soon! The pattern is coming!

Leave a comment