Phew…and Sorry

I really didn’t consider, before I said I’d write every day, just how busy I was going to be! And after the busyness, how much I would need time just spent investing in relationships, in prayer, in quiet…and important things like taking the kids sledding!  (Photo Credit goes to my wonderful sister-in-law, who was also a part of this Important Event).

Anyway, sorry, folks! Rest assured I wasn’t just avoiding this! Let’s pick up where we left off, shall we?

I’m sure there are those of you wondering how our appointment with the Developmental Pediatrician went. I’m happy to say it went very VERY well. I am SO pleased with this doctor! She doesn’t believe in labeling for the sake of labeling, for one thing. She wants DS to get the help he needs to help him have a fulfilling, successful life, but feels that giving us a label for “what’s going on” would only be moderately helpful. So, we’re taking it one step at a time, observing him, getting him in with the Speech Language Pathologist…but for now not worrying about naming what it is he has. And it may yet turn out to be just a developmental “quirk”…there’s still so much we have to learn about child development and the brain!

Anyway, no real “answers” I guess, but to me that’s less the point. And I’d rather we all take our time instead of jumping to a pet diagnosis (something this doctor is extremely aware of as a danger). We left feeling that we were heard, that there is help available, and with a sense of reassurance that there are people on our side and next steps to take. So, praise God for that!

I must say that in all the craziness of the tough times we’ve been facing, God has been there every step of the way. I’ve been scared sometimes, but there has always been His comfort. There have been times when we’ve wondered whether things would work out, but God has come through every time with the right answer to the problem at hand. When I’ve been stressed, He’s given me rest. None of this has been according to my plan, but I’m at peace knowing that it’s all going according to His plan. God is so good. All the time. Even when times are tough. No, ESPECIALLY then.

2 thoughts on “Phew…and Sorry

  1. kristin says:

    With our oldest we were urged to get a label, but i refused. He was one of those perfect until 18 months and regressed, lost speech and ect. anyway.. not getting him labeled was the best choice for him. He does have some “autistic” tendencies, but with each passing day they fade.
    So glad you found a doc. that you like! It’s important to feel taken care of and supported.
    Your son is a PRECIOUS gift and just because he may not be developing “by the book” doesn’t mean anything!!!! Hold on to faith and trust and God and focus on who he IS in Christ. And seriously.. anytime you want someone to talk to who has been down the road of speech therapist and special ed. programs and IEP’s ( not sure what they do in canada, but here, the public school system is legaly bound to provide an education plan for students who have special needs… so you work with the schools to make sure your child is getting the attention and education you believe they deserve) please feel free to contact me! SUPPORT IS KEY!!!!

Leave a Reply

